2022 Taranaki Sports Awards​​​​​​​

The celebration of our sporting and active communities featured 13 categories spanning individuals volunteers, clubs, teams and coaches.

Winners were announced at our Awards dinner on 18 November at The Devon Hotel, taking into account all the action between 1 April 2021 – 30 September 2022. 

The 2022 Taranaki Sports Awards winners are:

  • Silks Audit Chartered Accountants Ltd: Sportsperson Corey Peters (Para Alpine Ski Racing)
  • The Floatation Sanctuary: Senior Sportswoman Zoe Hobbs (Athletics)
  • Business Distributors Limited (BDL): Senior Sportsman Corey Peters (Para Alpine Ski Racing)
  • New Plymouth Physiotherapy: Senior Sports Team Senior Men's Taranaki Golf Team
  • QP Sport Protection: Junior Sportswoman: Natasha Gouldsbury (Surfing)
  • Taranaki Secondary School Sports Association: Junior Sportsman Kalani Marra (Boxing)
  • TimberCo: Junior Sports Team New Plymouth Boys' High School First Xl (Hockey)
  • OurCloud: Masters: Roger Stachurski (Cricket)
  • WR Phillips:  Coach: Jaqua Pori-Makea-Simpson (Netball)
  • McDonald Real Estate Ltd: Game Official Jane Hickmott (Netball)
  • Clelands Construction: Volunteer Tony Eldershaw (Basketball)
  • CMK Chartered Accountants: Club Gymnastics Waitara

Sport Taranaki: Impact Award recipients

  • Jeremy Maxwell (Functional Strength and Conditioning)
  • John Sigurdsson (Football)
  • Kevin Nielsen (Horse Riding)
  • Nick Collins (Orienteering, Rogaine and Adventure Racing)
  • John Murtagh (Lawn Bowls)
  • Ray Hopkinson (Rugby)
  • Jody Le Bas (Gymnastics)

TSSSA Service to Secondary School Sport Award recipients

  • Kris Campbell, (Hawera High School - Rugby, Wrestling, & Motocross)
  • Pauline Hurley, (Hawera High School - Rugby, Basketball, Netball, & Athletics)
  • Maurice Gilmour (NPGHS – Basketball)
  • Aarun Langton (Opunake High School - Basketball)
  • Graeme Merhtens (Hawera High School - Basketball)